Student Services - Child Welfare & Attendance
SARB (School Attendance Review Board)
California compulsory education law requires everyone between the ages of 6 and 18 years of age to attend school, except 16 and 17 year-olds who have graduated from high school or passed the California High School Proficiency Exam (CHSPE) and obtained parental permission to leave. Some students, however, violate compulsory education laws and have a pattern of unexcused absences. Although truancy and excessive absenteeism are not new problems, they cause costly, long-term problems for the students, school, and the community.
Please contact Educational Services Liaison Veronica Ambrose at (209) 253-1996 for more information.